Memphis, Day 4


It’s been 4 days since I arrived in Memphis. Winter decided to give me a taste of what the rest of the northern world experiences, with 2-4 inches of snow a couple of days ago. The roads are fairly clear now, but the snow lingers on the grass, as the temperature hovers around freezing. Brrrr!

We got out yesterday to go to Wal-Mart to pick up a few items: chicken (leg and thigh quarters, boneless skinless breasts), pork roast, and some veggies. I cut the legs off the quarters and skinned the thighs. I got that tip from Dana Carpender’s Hold the Toast blog. She suggested that I put the skin and fat in the oven at 350ºF, for ‘chicken chips.’ I’m so glad I did. Renee and I ate almost all of it yesterday. Munchy good!

Today I’ve got 6 of the chicken thighs in the Crockpot with some Kraft Original BBQ sauce. We’ll eat that for dinner tonight with canned green beans, and maybe some oven fries (homemade, of course).

Last night we had leftover turkey carcass soup that Renee had in the freezer. She had white kernel corn and lima beans in it, and we added a can each of green beans and green peas. She’s got a lot of canned veggies in the pantry, a legacy of her father-in-law. I had a few Triscuits with it. She sent what was left home with her daughter this morning to feed her crew.

Breakfast for me has been what I was having back home: black tea with 1 packet of Truvia, a tablespoon of coconut crystals, a tablespoon of virgin coconut oil, and heavy cream. I also eat 5-6 Back to Nature® California Lemon Cookies, made with whole wheat flour (I’m not sure why their site doesn’t list these cookies, but they do make them).

Well, now you know what I’m eating in Memphis. More white flour than I’d planned, but some very good protein. I’m looking forward to exploring the city more when the weather warms up a little and the snow and ice are gone.

This entry was posted in My Log, Where am I today?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

