Following the Diet to Live For


I’m having trouble following my own diet. Sure, it’s easy when you’re in your own home and can have just what you need to eat in your pantry and fridge. You have the say-so for what comes and goes in your own home.

This doesn’t work so well when you’re in someone else’s home. Especially when they don’t eat the way you do. Now I’m not saying that it’s their fault. No way. It’s all my own doing if I don’t eat what I should. I just have no willpower when it comes to what is ‘bad food’ for me. I’ve been staying with my friends, Renee and her husband, since January 8th. That’s going on four weeks. They eat white flour and sugar and very few vegetables. They eat out. A lot.

Here’s the real problem: I’m weak. I have no spine. I justify to myself eating stuff that I know I shouldn’t eat. At Danver’s I eat fried eggs and bacon (good for me), and then I add grits and a biscuit (plus jam; not good choices for a low-carber). At Captain D’s I get the fish and coconut shrimp platter, with fried okra. Everything is breaded with white flour, and there’s a lot of sugar in the cole slaw. We won’t even mention Sheridan’s (see my post on that), which has nothing to recommend it but the fact that it tastes good.

Since I’ve been here, I’ve cooked dinner for Renee and her husband several times. This is where I shine, and where I am able to make some better choices for myself. I’ve fixed pork steaks (simply pan fried with a sprinkling of garlic powder), oven-fries (OK, not low-carb, but made with healthy fats), and sautéed asparagus; baked potatoes with sautéed onions and mushrooms, cheese, sour cream, and real bacon bits; Rachael Ray’s honey mustard chicken wings, broccoli, and oven fries (again; they were a hit, what can I say?). One night we cooked burger steaks (basically just hamburgers, but served without a bun), with mashed potatoes. And don’t forget the pork roast feast and my mashed potatoes and dripping gravy.

The next phase of my life will be traveling to Europe, and I’ll have even less choice there, I think. Here at Renee’s I can at least keep my virgin coconut oil in her pantry for my tea, as well as cream. With my weak nature, how will I keep myself healthy?

Here is a quote from Chris Guillebeau in his latest post on The Art of Non-Conformity:

Without an ongoing struggle to conquer resistance and produce something meaningful, there is no path to success or renown, at least not the respectable kind.

Chris is talking about career success in his post, but this is something I can apply to my own dilemma. I am trying to become healthy, and to show others how to use diet to accomplish this goal. By eating stuff that I know doesn’t promote health I am shooting myself in the foot: giving in to temptation, not walking my talk with those who follow this blog, and ultimately remaining unhealthy. How is this a good thing?

Readers, I am recommitting myself to following my own advice. I pledge to eat a healthy Diet to Live For, foregoing as much as possible white flour, sugar, and processed foods. It may be difficult as I travel the world, but the whole purpose of this trip is to find traditional foods. Traditional foods don’t use processed ingredients, but use whole, fresh ones. Eating close to the Earth is the best way to follow the Diet to Live For, and I’m going back to basics.

It’s really easy to say you’re going to do better, but, like anything worth doing, it’s a process. Habits take time to break. Three years ago when I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, my diet was much worse than it is today. How do you handle temptations like this? If you have any suggestions for helping me to stay on track, I’d love to hear them.

This entry was posted in My Log. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Following the Diet to Live For

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Following the Diet to Live For | Global Forager -- Topsy.com

  2. it’s really difficult for me to eat well all the time even when I know what i am putting in my body is pure crap. it’s a day to day process. just keep asking yourself before you put food in your mouth: am i going to regret this?

    it’s funny but it’s so easy to make a bad decision for fleeting pleasure, but then the we suffer the consequences far longer. why do we do that??

    • ericagott says:

      So very true, Marianne. Sometimes, even when I ask myself if I’m going to regret eating something, I do it anyway. It’s a process, this changing of habits. After we persevere for a while, the healthier choices become normal. Until then, it continues to be a struggle for me when presented with sugary, processed foods that were my mainstays before my learning I had diabetes. And of course I soon regret eating them!

Leave a Reply

