Stirling, Scotland: Day 5


View from the wifi bar in the Stirling library


Spent the entire afternoon yesterday online in the Stirling central library. Lovely old building with views of the old town roofs from the second floor reference area. Got lost on the way to the library, but it was an interesting wander. If I hadn’t stopped into the tourist info shop on the way, I’d have wandered even more. You have to register to use the internet here, and now I have a library card. Not sure it’ll get me books checked out, but it’s a library card. My second one in the UK—the first one is from Gairloch ten years ago.

Spring is coming! This willow is budding out.

This morning, after having tea, yogurt, and chocolate hobnobs for breakfast, I went to the bus station and booked my return ticket to London. I leave 9:30pm, arrive just before 7am. Then I am heading to either Wales or Cornwall, I haven’t figured out which. I’m still hunting for Keith, my British husband who I haven’t seen in 7 years. He was in Wales the last I heard from him, so that’s where I’m concentrating my search.

Two lovely ladies at the Lush store, with Matilda

Before booking my ticket, I stopped into the Lush store in the Thistles mall and chatted up the salespeople there. Sonja and Casey were great, and gave me a few samples to try out on my travels. Of course, Matilda got her picture taken with them.

After talking to the council office, they gave me a number to call in Wales to look for Keith. They said that since he was born there and last seen there, that was a better place to start looking. And thus why I am heading to that part of the country.

Have been here at the library again for about 2 ½ hours. I’m starving hungry, so will leave soon and eat. Tomorrow I may take the Stirling ‘back walk’ around the castle. Doesn’t seem too strenuous for me (except for the huge hill to get to the walk!).

I hear the church bells tolling the ¾ hour. The UK is lovely, and I adore the old towns and villages.

Talksoon, my friends. I’m off to find more adventures.

This entry was posted in My Log, Where am I today?. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stirling, Scotland: Day 5

  1. Wow, I didn’t know you were trying to track someone down! Good luck! What else have you been eating? Any traditional Scottish fare worth writing about?

    • ericagott says:

      I really need to do a post for my What Am I Eating section. I’ve had haggis, neeps and tatties, bacon rolls, Indian fare (lamb), Scottish steak-burger (their version of a hamburger), cheese toast & yogurt (at the hostel), endless cups of tea, and my own low-carb protein bars brought from Texas.

  2. Hey Erica!
    I’m just getting caught up on some blog reading! So you’re there to look for your husband? Can you tell us the story??

    • ericagott says:

      Well, I’ve kind of given up for now, because I think he’s in the UK. Here’s the story: 10 years ago I went to Scotland for 6 months. During the last 3 months, I met a man (a Brit) and fell in love. He followed me home and we were married in March 2002. In December 2003, we broke up and he went back to the UK. In April 2004 he told me he had lung cancer, and that they would remove the lower left lobe. In June 2004 he called to say he’d come through the surgery well. I’ve not heard from him since (and didn’t really want to at the time, because of some emotional stuff I was going through).

      Keith had been smoking since he was 15 years old. He rolled his own cigs, no filter. He was also an alcoholic. My view is that he didn’t stop smoking or drinking and had a recurrence of the lung cancer and died, but I have no proof of that. It is possible he miraculously quit smoking, but I don’t think it’s very likely. People who try to quit smoking usually have to stop other habits they associate with smoking, and Keith told me he wasn’t interested in stopping the drink.

      When I realized I’d be in the UK, I had the thought to see if I could find out one way or the other if he was still alive or had passed away. In Scotland I was told to check in Wales (that was his last known address, and where he was born). Before I got to Wales, however, I was offered this workaway deal in Ireland, and decided to check it out.

      So, that’s the story of my husband. I’ve thought of myself as a widow for the past 5 years or so, but I could still be married!

Leave a Reply

