Eating Low Carb/High Fat


Lordy, I made the most delicious low carb/high fat pizza ever. Pizza, you say? How can you eat pizza on a no-grain diet?? Easy. You use bacon for the crust. I got the idea from Juba on the Fat Head Facebook group. In his ‘recipe,’ he took three slices of thick bacon, cut them in half, and then wove the six pieces together to form a basketweave, hand-sized plate. I didn’t have the thick bacon, so I used my regular, thin-sliced, and did the same. I baked it on a rack over a foil-lined baking pan at 375ºF until it was practically burned on the edges, but looked fairly done in the middle. This took around 20 minutes, and I flipped it about halfway through.

After letting it rest for about 5-10 minutes so it would crisp up, I added my toppings. My fridge is rather bare right now, so I made do with what I had: mayonnaise, thinly sliced white onion, fresh tomato, chopped fresh garlic, sliced black olives, mild Hatch chilies in a can, and cheddar cheese. I put this back in the oven and turned the heat down to 350ºF and let it go for 5-10 minutes, until the cheese was melted and bubbly.

Oh.My.God. This was so delicious, it was like a little bit of heaven! The bacon-y goodness married well with mayonnaise and the tomato. The chilies were practically non-existent because they are so mild, but the garlic added quite a kick. Now I wish I had another one. You should try this. It’s easy, and you can put whatever toppings you desire on it.

This entry was posted in My Log, What I'm eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating Low Carb/High Fat

  1. Sounds like a bread-less BLT! I bet it was good 🙂

Leave a Reply

