Another N=1 Experience


On Saturday evening, I drank 2 cups of caffeinated coffee. I’d given up caffeine about a week or so ago, and had been feeling pretty good. My reason for giving it up is that I felt that the caffeine stimulated my adrenals to produce cortisol, and this was making me feel jittery and was quite possibly delaying healing my adrenals.

While visiting a friend, I had coffee after a lovely primal dinner of Parmesan crusted chicken breast and creamed spinach. I used a couple of packets of Truvia and some heavy whipping cream, my favorite additions to coffee. I sort of expected to feel jittery and hyped-up like I used to on caffeine, but I didn’t. My daughter wanted some of my coffee, but I’d just polished off the cup, so I made another one I could share. She only took a couple of sips, because she really doesn’t like sugar-free anything yet. I drank this one down, as well. Yum.

My friend and I are in the process of creating a business to sell the many photos I’ve taken on my travels, and we worked until midnight choosing pictures for her to play with on PhotoShop. Now, usually I am not a night owl – I crash by 10 to 11pm and am up by 6:30 to 7:30am each morning – but that night I was like the Energizer Bunny. I just kept going, and going….

My daughter finally dragged me away at midnight and we headed for home, where I got myself ready for bed. I wasn’t too sleepy yet, so I read book four in the Sookie Stackhouse series (the one that True Blood is based on) until 3am!

I woke up at 7:30am Sunday morning, but managed to go back to sleep and didn’t actually get out of bed until around 9am. The caffeine had a delayed reaction, because I certainly felt jittery and jagged, almost a hung-over feeling. My stomach was uneasy, and I was having leg cramps. A cup of my usual decaf espresso with cream and Truvia, along with a few pieces of my homemade sugar-free chocolate settled me down. At 11am, I was ready for some real food. I decided to fix some bacon and eggs to get some good protein and fat in me before I headed to Whole Foods Market to get my virgin coconut oil and Promised Land cream in the half gallon jar.

My take-away from this experience? Not only am I gluten sensitive, I appear to also be caffeine sensitive. One more thing to avoid on my path back to health. Below are some pictures of the lovely dinner my good friend Heather prepared for us, along with her cat, Wookie, in his ‘bed’ (which is actually a glass bowl on top of the dining table.

This entry was posted in My Log, What I'm eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

