Dinner and dessert in Memphis


I’m in Memphis now, staying with my best friend and her husband for a while. One of the ways I’m earning my bed and board here is by teaching them how to eliminate wheat from their diet and eat LCHF (low carb/high fat). It’s been 4 days now, and they’re doing great. I took all the wheat products out of the pantry, and moved the stuff from the fridge to the freezer out in the garage.

They are still eating more carbs than I’d like, in the form of sodas and popcorn, but we’re getting there. Tonight I made them dinner: baked cod, sauteed asparagus, and cole slaw. For dessert, I made a low carb peanut butter cookie and added chopped up Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate.

Other goodies they’ve loved: my sugar-free chocolate covered nuts (walnuts and pecans), and chocolate whipped cream mousse.

As well as cooking for them, we’ve been eating out a lot this week. I’m thrilled to say that they’ve avoided all wheat, even allowing me to send the bread basket away at Logan’s Steak House. Yesterday we ate at the Dixie Cafe, and they managed to stay away from the rolls, which were on the table for the other people in our party. They’ve got great willpower so far!

Here are pics from today’s lovely meal and goodies:

This entry was posted in My Log, What I'm eating, Where am I today?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner and dessert in Memphis

  1. Renee says:

    And it was so good too!

Leave a Reply

